The shortlist
-
NextPhone
No contract · No overage · Unlimited · 8 of 8 checks
$166/mo at 150 calls$166 seats + $0 AI
Start 7-day trial
-
VirtualPBX
No contract · Free trial · No setup fee · 7 of 8 checks
$99/mo at 150 calls$99 seats + $0 AI
Start 14-day trial
-
Quo (formerly OpenPhone)
No contract · Free trial · No setup fee · 8 of 8 checks
$126/mo at 150 calls$45 seats + $81.50 AI
Start 7-day trial
-
Allo
No contract · Free trial · No setup fee · 8 of 8 checks
$128/mo at 150 calls$96 seats + $32 AI
Start 3-day trial
-
Ringover
8 of 8 checks
$157/mo at 150 calls$57 seats + $100 AI
Visit Ringover
What you'd pay at 3 seats and 150 calls a month
Showing 21 of 21 tools. A filter shows what we found on a vendor's own pages, and a missing fact doesn't mean no.
Total not computable from published prices
- JustCall: AI from $0.99 per minute, with volume discounts down to $0.15. The rate at this volume isn't published.
- Phone.com: AI $29.99 a month for 100 minutes. Overage rate not found.
- Ooma Office: AI Answering Service from $14.99 per license for 40 minutes, AI Receptionist from $49.99 per license for 100 minutes, per Ooma's May 2026 release. Extra usage tiers not priced.
- CloudTalk: AI from $99 a month for 200 minutes. Larger bundles not found.
- Grasshopper: AI through partner Smith.ai, starts at $95 a month. Cost at this volume not stated.
- Microsoft Teams Phone: Teams Phone Agent is billed in Copilot Credits. No flat price.
- Dialpad Connect: AI agents are quote-only.
- GoTo Connect: Phone system and AI Receptionist are quote-only.
- Vonage Business: AI Virtual Assistant has no published price.
- 8x8: Phone system and AI are quote-only.
Why 10 tools aren't in the cost order
- Dialpad Connect: Its plans can't be totalled at 150 calls
- Microsoft Teams Phone: Its plans can't be totalled at 150 calls
- Phone.com: Its plans can't be totalled at 150 calls
- Ooma Office: Its plans can't be totalled at 150 calls
- Vonage Business: Its plans can't be totalled at 150 calls
- Grasshopper: Its plans can't be totalled at 150 calls
- CloudTalk: Its plans can't be totalled at 150 calls
- JustCall: Its plans can't be totalled at 150 calls
- GoTo Connect: No public price
- 8x8: No public price
Seats at the lowest published rate, billed yearly where offered, plus the AI at 6 minutes per call. Added up from each vendor's own prices, these are not vendor quotes.
How much do AI phone systems cost?
Half of the 11 AI phone systems we can total cost between $142 and $279 a month at 150 calls. The median is $270. 10 more can't be totalled at this volume or publish no price. 2 only sell through sales, and those tend to cost more, so treat this as the low side.
Hover or tap a mark to see the tool.
Best for
- Cheapest at 150 callsVirtualPBX$99Lowest of the 11 we can total. $99 seats + $0 AI
- Cheapest without a sales callVoIPLyfrom $4.96Lowest public price you can sign up for online. Premier + AI Receptionist
- Flat price, no usage limitZoom Phonefrom $16Lowest public plan that states unlimited use. Unlimited + AI Receptionist
- No long-term contractVirtualPBXfrom $15Lowest public price among tools that say month to month or cancel any time. No contract, pay monthly
- Most checks metNextPhonefrom $199Meets 8 of 8 of this page's checks, with quotes.
Every check, tool by tool
A tick quotes the vendor's own site. "Not found" means we didn't find it on the pages we read, not that the product lacks it.
| Tool | Answers calls with AI | Business phone number included | Extensions or call routing | Books appointments | Transfers to a person | Business texting | Connects to your tools | Answers 24/7 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| NextPhone | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| VirtualPBX | Yes | Yes | Yes | Not found | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Quo (formerly OpenPhone) | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Allo | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Ringover | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Nextiva | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Not found | Yes |
| Zoom Phone | Yes | Not found | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Not found | Yes |
| Talkroute | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Not found | Yes | Yes |
| VoIPLy | Yes | Yes | Yes | Not found | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Aircall | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Not found | Yes |
| RingCentral | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Not found | Yes |
| Dialpad Connect | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Not found | Yes | Not found | Not found |
| Microsoft Teams Phone | Yes | Yes | Yes | Not found | Yes | Yes | Yes | Not found |
| Phone.com | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Ooma Office | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Vonage Business | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Not found |
| Grasshopper | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Not found |
| CloudTalk | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| JustCall | Yes | Yes | Not found | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| GoTo Connect | Yes | Yes | Yes | Not found | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| 8x8 | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Not found |
Security and your data, tool by tool
From each vendor's own pages. "Not found" means we didn't find it, not that they don't have it.
| Tool | Trains AI on your data? | SOC 2 | GDPR | HIPAA (signs a BAA) | Single sign-on |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| VirtualPBX | Not found | Not found | EU & UK GDPR compliant | Not found | Not found |
| Quo (formerly OpenPhone) | Not found | SOC 2 Type II certified | Stays current with GDPR | available on Business and Scale | Single sign-on offered; plan not stated |
| Allo | Not found | compliant | compliant | available on Business and Ultra, $50/month per workspace | Not found |
| Ringover | Not found | Not found | GDPR compliant call recording | Not found | SSO (Google, Microsoft, Apple, Facebook) listed; Azure/SAML |
| Nextiva | Not found | SOC 2 certified | Not found | Not found | NEXT Engage |
| Zoom Phone | Not found | Not found | Not found | Not found | available on Business Plus |
| Talkroute | Not found | AI Receptionist is HIPAA & SOC2 compliant | Not found | available on Pro and Enterprise | Not found |
| VoIPLy | Not found | Not found | Not found | Not found | Not found |
| Aircall | Not found | SOC2 Type II | GDPR compliance listed | available on Enterprise | SAML SSO and SCIM on Enterprise |
| RingCentral | Not found | Not found | Not found | Not found | Not found |
| Dialpad Connect | Not found | SOC 2 Type II | supported, DPA available | available | Enterprise (Connect); SAML and SCIM |
| Microsoft Teams Phone | Not found | Not found | Not found | Not found | Not found |
| Phone.com | Not found | SOC 2 attested | Not found | available | Not found |
| Ooma Office | Not found | Not found | Not found | Not found | Not found |
| Vonage Business | Not found | Not found | Not found | available | Premium |
| Grasshopper | Not found | Not found | Not found | Not found | Not found |
| CloudTalk | Not found | SOC 2 Type II | yes | available | Not found |
| JustCall | no (Google Workspace API data) | SOC 2 Type 1 report | available on Business | available on Business | Business |
| GoTo Connect | Not found | Not found | Not found | Not found | Not found |
| 8x8 | Not found | audited against SOC 2 | states compliance with GDPR | Not found | SSO with role-based access (plan not stated) |
How AI phone systems prices moved since 2023
- Allo Starter $13 to $18 (+38%) 2025Q3
- Allo Starter $19 to $25 (+32%) 2025Q2
- CloudTalk Essential $30 to $29 (-3%) 2025Q1
- VirtualPBX Contact Center $89 to $59 (-34%) 2025Q1
See the full history
| Share of tools | 2023Q1 | Today |
|---|---|---|
| Free plan | 11% | 6% |
| Sign up online | 100% | 89% |
| Offers contact-sales | 89% | 89% |
| No public price | 11% | 11% |
| Priced per seat | 78% | 50% |
| Priced flat tiers | 11% | 6% |
Every price change we found
| When | Tool | Plan | Before | After | Change |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025Q2 → 2025Q3 | Allo | Starterbilled annual | $13 | $18 | +38% |
| 2025Q1 → 2025Q2 | Allo | Starterbilled monthly | $19 | $25 | +32% |
| 2024Q4 → 2025Q1 | CloudTalk | Essentialbilled annual | $30 | $29 | -3% |
| 2024Q4 → 2025Q1 | VirtualPBX | Contact Centerbilled annual | $89 | $59 | -34% |
New arrivals and what they charged
- Allo first appeared in 2024Q2; its first archived price was $19/mo, against a median of $17 for vendors already there
Read from archived copies of each vendor's pricing page in the Internet Archive, one per quarter, plus our own read today. 19 vendors have archived pricing pages. A read carries forward until the next one. The index compares the same plan at the same vendor quarter to quarter, so new and departing vendors don't move it. These are the vendors' listed plan prices, phone seats included; an AI add-on counts only where the pricing page showed one.
Questions
How much do AI phone systems cost?
Half of the 11 AI phone systems we can total cost between $142 and $279 a month at 150 calls. The median is $270.
Which AI phone systems can you buy without talking to sales?
19 show a public price and an online sign-up: NextPhone, VirtualPBX, Quo (formerly OpenPhone), Allo, Ringover, Nextiva and 13 more.
Which AI phone systems mention SOC 2?
10 of 21: Quo (formerly OpenPhone), Allo, Nextiva, Talkroute, Aircall, Dialpad Connect and 4 more. Not finding it on a vendor's site doesn't mean they don't have it.
Related comparisons
How this list is made
Every price is read from the vendor's own pricing page on the date shown and tied to the line it came from. Tools are ordered by what they cost at a typical volume, then by starting price, with the top pick shown first. No one pays to be listed or ranked.